Friday, July 15, 2011

After School Blue-Red reveals concept photos + jacket covers

Updated with After School's Blue and Red jacket album covers.

After School's twin unit known as "AS Blue" and "AS Red" has released their individual concept photos for their upcoming comeback. On July 15th, the concept jacket photos were released on After School's website, showing their two very different concepts of "strong vs sweet."

AS Red consists of Kahi, Jungah, Nana, and UEE and will be taking on the concept of a strong and sexy image as depicted in their concept photo below. All four girls are dressed in sexy leather dresses and all have the similar blonde long hair.

AS Blue consists of Jooyeon, Raina, Lizzy, and E-Young, who will be taking on the sweet and cute concept. They're concept photos revealed all four women sitting on the ground in white dressed and brown hair with a dream, pure, and innocent-like feel to it.

The two units will be releasing their own individual albums and will not only make their comeback simultaneously, they will be rivals on stage. An official said, "One team has been divided into two groups. The members are enjoying working on their own albums. At the same time, After School will show off their two kinds of beauty."

After School will have their debut Japanese showcase on July 17th in Tokyo.

Are you looking forward to their music and double-comeback?

Source: Sports Dongha and Newsen

2NE1 releases tracklist for upcoming mini-album + MVs release dates

Ten months after releasing their last mini-album, a date has been set for 2NE1 to released their next mini-album on July 28th. YG Entertainment released the group's tracklist on July 15th through their blog, YG Life.

According to the tracklist they released, there will be two new songs included in addition to the already released tracks "Lonely," "Don't Cry," and "I Am The Best." The mini-album will also include the bonus track "Don't Stop The Music," which was used as the theme song of Yamaha 'Fiore' last year.

The two additional songs that will be included on the mini-album are "Ugly" and "Hate You." "Ugly" was written, composed, and arranged by Teddy of 1TYM and will act as the title song of the album. "Hate You" has been tagged as the sub-title song of the album and was also written, composed, and arranged by Teddy.

According to YG Entertainment's blog, 2NE1 will first release the sub-title song "Hate You." The song was originally suppose to be released on 2NE1's first studio album last year, in fact. "Hate You" was originally titled "Fuck You." However, due to its derogatory title and lyrics because of 2NE1's young fanbase and Minzy being underage, the song did not make the final cut for 2NE1's 1st studio album. The blog post continues to say that 2NE1 had liked the song and wanted to change the title to the track and it was decided that "Hate You" would be included in their new mini-album.

The music video for "Hate You" will be an animation video which was produced by graphic artist Marie Kim. The teasers for "Hate You" will be released starting on July 18th at midnight and the music video is set to be released for July 21st at midnight.

The post continues to talk about their main title song "Ugly," a song that features a powerful guitar rift with a mix of rock and electronic sounds. The lyrics speaks of one's outward appearance and to be honest with ourselves despite how "Ugly" we may seem. CL is known for her talent for knowing multiple languages such as French and English, and the chorus for "Ugly" has been sung entirely in English by CL herself for international Kpop fans. "Ugly" has a very summery chorus that is refreshing for the season.

The music video for "Ugly" is set for release on July 28th at midnight. Production costs, according to YG Entertainment, has been the most ever spent on a music video thus far. "Ugly" was directed by Han Samin.

YG continues to talk about their special collaboration with Marie Kim, who they had contacted after admiring her art for so long. After being contacted, Marie Kim had personally offered to not only direct the music video for "Hate You" but also take care of 2NE1's album jackets.

Marie Kim has worked with Andrew Warhola for his album "Velvet Underground," Julian Opie’s 10 year anniversary album "Blur," Kanye West's album "Graduation," and even collaborated with Louis Vuitton for the accessory line "Murakami."

They have also hinted that 2NE1's promotions this year will not end with their latest mini-album and to anticipate more.

2NE1 will also be preparing for their upcoming solo concerts on August 27th and 28th titled "NOLZA."

1. I Am The Best (Lyrics, Composed, Arranged: Teddy)
2. Ugly (Lyrics, Composed, Arranged: Teddy) TITLE
3. Lonely (작사: Teddy / 작곡: Teddy, e. knock / Arranged: Teddy)
4. Hate You (Lyrics, Composed, Arranged: Teddy) SUB TITLE
5. Don’t Cry (Lyrics, Composed: Teddy, Lydia Paek / Arranged: Teddy)
-Bonus Track-
6. Don’t Stop the Music (Lyrics, Composed: e. knock / Arranged: 최필강)

Source: YG-life and Newsen

Website Title News Gallery Forums Chatroom Academy Back to news BEAST feels like a guest performer when performing with TVXQ

BEAST has recently been promoting overseas in Japan with their latest Japanese single, "Bad Girl." The members have been flying back and forth to Korea for performances and their personal schedules.

Recently, Kikwang collaborated with Brave Brothers and Electroboyz for the song, "Break Up." In addition to that, Kikwang also attended Mnet's 2011 20's Choice awards last week and claimed the "Hot Performance Star" award.

On July 13th, the members of BEAST made an appearance on MBC's "Golden Fishery - Radio Star." On the program, BEAST was asked about their popularity in Japan rather than Korea. The members of BEAST responded with, "We can't really feel our popularity in Japan."

The members of BEAST explained how they came to feel this way. They stated, "When we were in Japan previously, we got the opportunity to perform alongside TVXQ. The thing was, we felt like we were the guest performers at the show." They continued with, "TVXQ's popularity in Japan is not a joke. People have been saying that we are popular in Japan, but they don't know the whole story."

BEAST is scheduled to release their first Japanese album, "SO BEAST," on August 10th. Will you be purchasing "SO BEAST" or are you waiting for their return to the Korean music industry?

Source: tohosomnia and baidutvxq

Miss A's tracklist and album cover for "Class A" released

miss A's first studio album "Class A" is set to be released early next week on July 18th. This will be the group's first studio album released since their debut last year. They made waves upon their debut with their first single "Bad Girl Good Girl" and became the top rookies of 2010.

On July 14th, miss A left a video message for their fans on music website Melon. The album cover and tracklist was also released on the website. The album cover features the same sexy legs that has become miss A's trademark since their debut last year.

The album includes past tracks such as "Play The Music DJ," "Step Up," "Blankly," and "Breathe" from their 2nd mini-album "Step Up," and "Love Again" and "Bad Girl Good Girl" from their 1st mini-album "Bad But Good."

01. One To Ten
02. Good Bye Baby
03. Help Me
04. Break It
05. Mr. Johnny
06. Play The Music DJ
07. Step Up
08. Breathe
09. Blankly
10. Love Again
11. Bad Girl Good Girl
12. Good Bye Baby (Silver Mix)

Source: Melon